craving color: zesty homewares in chartreuse

Being as fair-skinned as I am (the names of my foundations normally use words like “alabaster” and “china doll”), there are a lot of colors I can’t easily wear. Any time I venture into a dressing room armed with a fuchsia dress, a mustard sweater, or an orange tee, I almost always hear my mom’s voice in my head, telling me that something just isn’t “my color.” “Try it in that pretty light blue!” the voice says. The voice is right, though, because trying to don a burnt-sienna dress and not look like a corpse is a pretty tricky thing for a pastey, blue-eyed redhead to do.
Tragically, chartreuse is one of those colors. No matter how hard I try to channel some tan Latina who could rock the color, I never can really pull it off. That’s ok, though, because Etsy has plenty of fun things in chartreuse that don’t have to be worn. I discovered the joy of chartreuse freshman year in college, when I paired my $20 black-and-white comforter with $9.99 chartreuse sheets from Linens-n-Things. I know… wise beyond my years.
vintage chartreuse mod vase, by msmichiganroux, $12

green chalkboard, by allthingsartsy, $20

lime sea urchin 8x8 by karingrow, $18

french rose pillow in grey and warm olive linen, by dedeetsyshop, $32

fawn and flower wall wear, by neawear, $90

oh dahlia, a 5x5 print by underabluesky, $12

mod pug fine art print, 8x10, by moddogshop, $20

ferris wheel letterpress folded notes, set of five, by paperlovelypress, $15

stone drink coaster set of four, by hockwear, $19

chartreuse victorienne clock, by uncommon, $42

lime green frame by secondlineframes, $60

tastes like fall, 12x12 art photograph, by everydaymoments, $35

10 Comments

Filed under color theory

10 responses to “craving color: zesty homewares in chartreuse

  1. love your choices!! mmm… chartreuse.

  2. Chartreuse is one of my favorite colors. Thank you so much for including my sea urchin with all of these lovelies! Karin

  3. Thanks so much for including my chalkboard in your mix. I love all of your fun picks- they’re all great!

  4. I was just admiring your blog the other day and didn’t realize it was so new. Great job (and thanks for reading mine)!

  5. Awesome!! Thanks so much for having me!! πŸ˜€
    LOVE that frame!

  6. lovely! i am fair-skinned as well, so i can definitely relate! xo

  7. Love this color and your pick of items! The Dahlia print is beautiful! And I have to laugh at your descriptions of your color problems- I’m an alabaster too!

  8. Great picks! I like this color in the home…it seems natural and earthy, but sometimes when worn, it’s just too much, even for those who can rock it.

    • thanks, victoria! I totally agree — sometimes it can look a little Miami Vice-esque on people, even if their skin isn’t the color of paper like mine. But I do love it in the home! I think the tint in those coasters is the perfect one πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

